

China Telecom Corporation Limited

中国电信股份有限公司

(A joint stock limited company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability)

(Stock Code: 0728)

EXTRAORDINARY GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 25 FEBRUARY 2008 – POLL RESULTS

The Board of the Company is pleased to announce that the proposed special resolution was duly passed by shareholders by way of poll at the EGM of the Company held on 25 February 2008.

Results of the EGM

The Board of China Telecom Corporation Limited (the "Company") is pleased to announce that the proposed special resolution was duly passed by shareholders by way of poll at the extraordinary general meeting (the "EGM") of the Company held on 25 February 2008 at No. 31 Jinrong Street, Xicheng District, Beijing, PRC.

As of the date of the EGM, the total number of issued shares of the Company was 80,932,368,321, which was the total number of shares entitling the holders to attend and vote for or against the special resolution. There were no restrictions on any shareholders casting votes on the proposed special resolution at the EGM. The EGM was held in compliance with the requirements of the Company Law of the People's Republic of China and the provisions of the articles of association of the Company.

The poll results in respect of the proposed special resolution at the EGM were as follows:

Special Resolution	No. of votes (%)	
	For	Against
Special resolution of the Notice of the Extraordinary General		
Meeting dated 10 January 2008	71,101,035,303	25,319
(to approve the merger of the Company and twenty wholly-	(99.9999%)	(0.0001%)
owned subsidiaries of the Company by way of absorption)		

As more than 2/3 of the votes were cast in favour of this resolution, the resolution was duly passed as a special resolution.

Computershare Hong Kong Investor Services Limited, registrar of Company's H share, acted as scrutineer for the vote-taking at the EGM.

As of the date of this announcement, the Board consists of Mr. Wang Xiaochu as the chairman and chief executive officer, Mr. Leng Rongquan as the president and chief operating officer, Madam Wu Andi as the executive vice president and chief financial officer, Mr. Zhang Jiping, Mr. Zhang Chenshuang, Mr. Li Ping, Mr. Yang Jie, Mr. Sun Kangmin as the executive vice presidents, Mr. Li Jinming as the non-executive director, and Mr. Zhang Youcai, Mr. Lo Hong Sui, Vincent, Mr. Shi Wanpeng, Mr. Xu Erming and Mr. Tse Hau Yin, Aloysius as the independent non-executive directors.

By Order of the Board

China Telecom Corporation Limited

Yung Shun Loy, Jacky

Company Secretary

Beijing, PRC, 25 February 2008